University of Freiburg (Germany)

The Albert-Ludwigs University Freiburg. German institution belonging to Higher Education. With a long history, it is one of the oldest universities in the country.


The foundation of this university dates back to 1457 when Archduke Albert IV of Austria created the second university in the Habsburg region. In the beginning it had the Faculties of Theology, Law, Medicine and Philosophy and its students came from southwestern Germany, Alsace, Switzerland and Austria. It is located in the city of Freiburg, a city in Baden-Württemberg on the right bank of the river Rhine.


It is a center where tradition and modernity coexist. Their priority is to achieve quality in research and to achieve this they are aware that interdisciplinarity in the fields of study is necessary, in addition to cooperation with different organizations such as the European Confederation of Universities of the Upper Rhine (UECOR).


It is especially recognized in areas such as Medicine, Forest Sciences, Biology, Artificial Intelligence and Microsystems Technology.

Teaching benefit

Currently, students can choose between 160 courses in eleven faculties: from the traditional branches such as Theology and Law, through Mathematics, Physics and Biology to more innovative courses, such as Behavioral Sciences or Environmental Sciences.

The university is spread over four centers around the city of Freiburg. Students of Social Sciences, Humanities and Law are located in the heart of the city. Future mathematicians and natural science students have their own campus, the so-called “Institutsviertel” in the Neuburg district. The Faculty of Applied Sciences is located almost on the airport grounds in the west of the city. There is also the Faculty of Medicine, where the University Clinic is located.

International projection

This university in Baden-Württemberg is known above all for the high number of foreign students: 16% are non-German. With the International Graduate Academy, it fosters doctoral students. The Academy is very useful for foreigners, because it provides information on housing and proofreading services for scientific texts. Foreign students receive through the “Futura Mentoring” program extensive information on networking and university education. In addition, individual advice is offered in the phases of student changes: from a university degree to a doctorate and from a doctorate to a postdoctoral degree.

The University of Freiburg also thinks about the phase after the doctorate. The Researchers Program encourages qualified young people in Education, Mathematics and Financial Market Research and Pharmaceutical Bioinformatics through three research groups.

University of Hamburg

University of Hamburg. It is today the largest university and research center in northern Germany.


Founded in 1919, it has 41,500 students in 22 departments and 150 master’s and bachelor’s study programs, with 12% of its students being foreigners. Despite being a recent university, it has 6 Nobel Prize winners and several scientists and prominent figures. Today it functions as a university and a research center simultaneously. It is one of the largest study houses in northern Germany, today it has around 41,500 students within the 22 departments that make up its academic offer, it also offers 150 master’s programs. The university’s campuses are scattered throughout the city, however most of these are located in the Grindell neighborhood.. Due to this, student life is very rich since most of the faculties meet in this area so students can live with their peers from other careers, this also gives a cultural touch to the city. It is a public institute with one of the largest course offerings in Hamburg. It has its own observatory in Bergedorf, as well as a number of advanced online learning programs. It is also a university that supports language learning, especially for non-native German speakers.


Faculty of Law • Law Sciences Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences • Department of Economic Sciences • Department of Social Sciences • Department of Economics and Politics Faculty of Medicine • Medicine Faculty of Pedagogy, Psychology and Psychomotor Sciences • Department of Pedagogy • Department of Psychology • Department of Psychomotricity Faculty of Humanistic Sciences • Department of Evangelical Theology • Department of Languages, Literature and Media • Department of Philosophy and History • Department of History of Culture and Cultural Science • Asia-Africa Institute Faculty of Mathematics,Informatics and Natural Sciences • Department of Biology • Department of Chemistry • Department of Geology • Department of Informatics • Department of Mathematics • Department of Physics • Center for Bioinformatics (ZBH)

Personalities who studied at the University

  • Leo Rape
  • Wolfgang Pauli
  • WolfgangPaul
  • J. Hans D. Jensen
  • Bernhard Nocht
  • Abby Warburg
  • William Stern
  • Albrecht Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
  • Ernst Cassirer
  • Agathe Lasch
  • Erwin Panofsky
  • Egmont Zechlin
  • Fritz Fischer
  • Peter Drucker
  • Karl Schiller
  • Helmut Schelsky
  • Carl Friedrich von Weizsäcker
  • Alfons Maria Jakob
  • KunoLorenz
  • Eberhard Schorsch
  • Hans Peter Bull
  • Wolfgang Hoffmann-Riem
  • Friedemann Schulz von Thun
  • Peter Reichel (Political Scientist)
  • Lili Fisher
  • Osvaldo Bayer

University of Freiburg (Germany)

About the author