National University of La Rioja (Argentina)

National University of La Rioja. Public university of Argentina with headquarters in the city of La Rioja. It was created as the Provincial University of La Rioja by provincial law on June 2, 1972 and promoted to the rank of National University on December 28, 1993.

Historical review

The UNLaR was created by National Law No. 24,299 of the year 1993, on the basis of its predecessor, the Provincial University of La Rioja, instituted by Provincial Law No. 3,392 of the year 1972. Starting its academic activities in the year 1973.

In 1992, in what was then called the Provincial University of La Rioja (UPLR), the Academic Departments of: Behavioral Sciences; Applied Science; Basic Sciences and Social Sciences. The Research Department was also part of that structure.

The specific competencies of each of these Academic Units were made explicit in Articles 7, 10, 14 and 17 of Ordinance No. 02/73: Thus, the Department of Behavioral Sciences had “…the function of providing courses and knowledge to order careers and professions that are linked to the action that man exerts on man, that is, social intentions…”, the Department of Applied Sciences brought together “…courses dedicated to the praxis of technologies based on Basic Sciences…”, the The Department of Basic Sciences should provide the Knowledge and Courses necessary to participate in the University, “…without pretending that they will constitute a career…”. Lastly, the Department of Social Sciences brought together the teaching of Economics, Administration, Accounting, Law and Geography.

On July 10, 1992, Prof. Dr. Enrique Daniel N. Tello Roldán was democratically elected by the H. University Assembly, in the position of Rector, formalizing the respective Assumption on July 15 of the same year. With him the last provincial stage of this House of High Studies begins.

In 1994, by Law No. 24,299, the Honorable Congress of the Nation created the National University of La Rioja (Official Gazette No. 17,811, dated January 5). The respective formalization and subscription of the Transfer Agreement of the former Provincial University to the jurisdiction of the Argentine Nation, took place on February 18, 1994. At that time the migration of young people to other latitudes was remarkable, only those who had the possibility of pursuing their Higher Studies in other provinces, such as Córdoba, Buenos Airesor Tucumán, managed to return to their hometown with the long-awaited diploma. For its part, at the University the enrollment of its students was not related to the number of graduates from the secondary level of the province, which corresponded to the scarce academic offer at that time, which included only 9 undergraduate courses.

Departments and campuses of the university

  • Academy of Health Sciences and Education
  • Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences
  • Academy of Social, Legal and Economic Sciences
  • Academy of Sciences and Technologies Applied to Production, Environment and Urban Planning
  • Academy of Humanities

University locations

  • Chamical University Headquarters
  • Villa Union University Headquarters
  • Aimogasta University Headquarters
  • Chepes University Headquarters
  • Catuna Academic Extension (Villa Santa Rita de Catuna)
  • Tama Academic Extension
  • Olta Academic Extension
  • Ulapes Academic Extension
  • Vinchina Academic Extension

Awards and distinctions

The National University of La Rioja, in compliance with the strategic process of globalization of Higher Education, has to its credit a total of forty-one Awards and Distinctions that distinguish this House of Higher Studies in its Academic, Scientific and Extension performances.

The UNLaR has strengthened and increased its links with the entire world and today such management can be seen reflected in the marked growth in the enrollment of foreign students that this Institution receives year after year.

It has more than 12 national awards and distinctions and more than 30 international awards and distinctions until 2012.

National University of La Rioja (Argentina)

About the author