Wimbledon 2015 Facts and Figures

From June 29 to July 12, 2015 is in London the prestigious Wimbledon Tennis Tournament site. The tournament is one of the four Grand Slam tournaments. In addition to the large number of ATP and WTA score that can be achieved, tennis player competing for the honour of putting the biggest tennis tournament in the world on their behalf. The Reigning champions Novak Djokovic and Petra Kvitova will also this year’s tournament would write his name. What is the schedule and what are the results in the tournament?

  • The Name Wimbledon
  • The history of the tournament
  • Complex
  • Dutch successes
  • Scores and prize money
  • The Favorites
  • Schedule

The Name Wimbledon

Tennis tournament, in its entirety is called The Wimbledon Championships, owes its name to the area where it is situated. Wimbledon is a village-like neighbourhood of London. In the area is the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club, which hosts the most prestigious tournament in the world.

The history of the tournament

In 1877 was held the first official tournament in Wimbledon. The tournament could take part only men.Englishman Spencer Gore was the first winner of Wimbledon. Seven years later, may also join the ladies.In the finals, Maud Watson won his sister Lilian Watson. Decades later, Venus and Serena Williams repeat this unique event by standing as sisters in the final against each other. The tournament was dominated by the British. Only in 1907 Australian Norman Brookes felt for the first time that a non-British man to win the tournament. That is why the tournament seven times, was won by William Renshaw as the tournament between 1881 and 1886, won six times in a row. He is the only one that has achieved this. However, it was at that time less difficult to win the tournament since Wimbledon winner was automatically qualified for the final in the next year. His twin brother Ernest Renshaw won the tournament. Then it was time for the brothers Lawrence and Reginald Doherty, who together managed to win Wimbledon nine times. After the victory of the British Fred Perry in 1936, it took almost 80 years before the Briton at Wimbledon could prevail. Only in 2014, the Scotsman Andy Murray to write tournament in his name. In addition to William Renshaw also knew Pete Sampras and Roger Federer to win the tournament seven times. In the women’s tournament leading up to the first world war were mostly won by British women. Only the American may Sutton won the tournament in 1905 and 1907. In the seven years after the end of World War II, the tournament was won no less than six times by the French Suzanne Lenglen. For a long time the British Helen Wills Wimbledon record for number of titles to her name.Between 1927 and 1938 won the tournament eight times. Between 1978 and 1990 did the Czech-American tennis star Martina Navratilova to win the tournament no less than nine times, as she is the record holder. Other successful tennis players at Wimbledon is Billie Jean King, Steffi Graf and Williams sisters.


The biggest job of his Wimbledon Centre Court and Court 1. Centre Court is a tennis Stadium, which has been in use since 1922. After several renovations, the stadium can accommodate 15,000 spectators. The arena has a sliding roof, so keep playing in the rain can be. The sliding roof was used for the first time in Wimbledon 2009. In Court 1 to more than 11,000 spectators and Court 2 seats 4000 spectators.

Dutch successes

The Dutch success at Wimbledon is limited. Tom Tom Okker succeeded in 1978 to reach the semi-finals and tennis Sig Stove lost in the 1977 final. Mark gains Richard Krajicek was in 1996. In the second round, Krajicek hit the 10th-placed German Michael Stich and won in three sets. Quarter-finals seemed to be the last station. He was against Pete Sampras, who had won the tournament three previous years. To everyone’s surprise, Krajicek won in three sets, 7-5, 7-6 and 6-4. That would be Pete Sampras only one loss in eight years. In the semi final was won 3-0 in sets of Jason Stoltenberg, and in the final the American MaliVai Washington was the surprise opponent. In a eenzijde final Krajicek won 6-3, 6-4, 6-3, so he is the only Dutch Wimbledon winner.

Scores and prize money

In 2015, the total prize fund of over 37 million euros, an increase of 7% compared to 2014. The winners of the tournament receive 7% more than last year. Since 2007, the prize money for men and women alike.The amount of money that the winner gets, has exploded. In 2007, the winner of the men’s singles is still £ 700,000, in 2015 was 1.9 million pounds, which is about 2.6 million. The winner of the women’s singles can gather the same amount. The winner of Wimbledon, the ATP or WTA 2000 points. In other Grand Slam tournaments, this is the highest number of tournament points that can be earned in a tournament.In most tournaments can be earned 250 or 500 points.

The Favorites

Among men, there are four favorites, namely Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray. All four men have won the tournament at least once. Shape of the day will determine who will take home the title of the tournament. Djokovic is defending champion and is again one of the top favorites. Performance of Federer was less in 2014 and 2015, while Andy Murray reveals to be in the greatest shape. Rafael Nadal won the Wimbledon 2010 for the last time. Even if the grass is not his favorite surface, is he on all surfaces a difficult opponent to play their explosive game. For the women, Maria Sharapova and Serena Williams ‘ Favorites. There are, however, Petra Kvitova, and Caroline Wozniacki Simona Halep dangerous outsiders.


The final schedule will be announced about a week before the tournament. When the schedule is there will be updated with results of this article.
Schedule men
Schedule ladies