Giro D’Italia 2015 Team Time Trial

On Saturday, May 9th 2015 Giro d’Italia will begin with a team time trial. The start of the first leg in San Lorenzo al Mare. The finish of the opening stage in Sanremo. How the course of this team time trial looks like? What is the boot order and what are the start times of the participating teams? Which teams are favorites to win the opening stage of the Tour of Italy? This stage will be broadcast live on TV.

History: the team time trial in the Giro

The team time trial in the Giro 2015 is the 25th team time trial in the history of the Tour of Italy. The first Giro team time trial took place in 1937. This stage was 60 kilometers long and the victory went to the team Legnano. Below is an overview of all the team time trial ever to be held in the Giro.
The winner team time trial in the Giro:

  • 1937: 60 km-Legnano
  • 1953: 30 km-Bianchi
  • 1954: 36 km-Bianchi
  • 1955: 18, 4 km-Torpado
  • 1956: 12 km-Leo-Chlorodont
  • 1971: 62 km-Salvarani
  • 1981: 15 km-Hoonved
  • 1982: 16 km-Renault
  • 1983: 70 km-Bianchi
  • 1984: 55 km-Renault
  • 1985: 38 km-Del Tongo-Colnago
  • 1986: 50 km-Del Tongo
  • 1987: 43 km-Carrera
  • 1988: 40 km-Del Tongo
  • 1989: 32,5 km-Ariostea
  • 2006: 38 km-CSC
  • 2007: 25.6-Liquigas
  • 2008: 23,6-Slipstream Chioptle
  • 2009: 20,5-Team Columbia – High Road
  • 2010: 33 km-Liquigas-Doimo
  • 2011: 19,3 km-Team HTC – Highroad
  • 2012: 32,2 km-Team Garmin-Barracuda
  • 2013: 17,4 km-Team Sky
  • 2014: 21,7 km-Orica-Grön Edge

Starting point: San Lorenzo al Mare

The municipality of San Lorenzo al Mare is located in the Liguria region in the province of Imperia. This municipality has about 1,400 inhabitants. It is a picturesque town that is popular with tourists. This small coastal town is also interesting as a place to stay for tourists, because it is a bit away from the tourist point of view very interesting places like Monaco and the finish of the team tempo: Sanremo.

End Location: Sanremo

Sanremo is a famous, exclusive resort on the Ligurian coast. Sanremo is nicknamed the “city of flowers”. Sanremo is within cycling best known as the finish of the spring classic Milan-Sanremo. Outside the cycling world, the city is best known for the Festival of Sanremo Rally Sanremo Casino Sanremo. Even so Sanremo is a world famous site, the city has only about 50,000 inhabitants.
Has been over time a lot of confusion about the spelling of the name of the city. The Italian spelling is actually “Sanremo. Abroad, they write this town in general as”  San Remo”, because it automatically assumes that the place name is a tribute to a saint named Remo. However, this is not the case. The city name is a corruption of the former city Sant’Eremo di San Romolo. Because incorrect spelling, San Remo, in many countries have been so much more than the Italian correct spelling, Sanremo, Sanremo eventually become the most internationally accepted spelling of the city name.

During the first stage

The route of this team time trial is 17.6 kilometers long. The route is mostly near the coast. The course is flat. In Santo Stefano al Mare, after 9.9 kilometers, between the point where the split times recorded. The team time trial is held on a bike path that has come in the place where once was the railroad between San Lorenzo al Mare Sanremo.


All 17 teams in 2015, a UCI World Tour license, will be launched at this year’s Giro d’Italia. The organization of the Giro has five wild cards awarded to ProContinentale law. In total there are 22 such teams on the start list of the 2015 Giro.

Starting order and Start Times

Below you will find the starting order and start times for all participating teams.
Start times Giro TTT 2015

  • Lampre-Merida 15:10 00
  • AG2R 15h15: 00
  • Androni toys 15h20: 00
  • Team Astana 15h25: 00
  • Nippo-Vini Fantini 15:30: 00
  • Team Radioshack-Nissan-Trek 15u35: 00
  • Bardiani-CSF 15u40: 00
  • BMC 15h45: 00
  • Sky 15:50: 00
  • Etixx-Quick 15u55: 00
  • Giant Alpecin 16.00: 00
  • IAM Cycling 16u05: 00
  • Movistar 16.10: 00
  • Southeast 16h15: 00
  • CCC Polkowice Sprandi-16h20: 00
  • Orica-GreenEdge 16u25: 00
  • TeamLottoNL-Giant 16:30: 00
  • Lotto Soudal 16u35: 00
  • Katusha Team 16h40: 00
  • Tinkoff Bank-Saxo Bank 16.45: 00
  • Cannondale-Garmin 16:50: 00
  • FDJ 16u55: 00

Rash first stage

TTT result

  • Orica Green Edge 00:19:26
  • Tinkoff Bank Saxo Bank 00:00:07
  • Astana 00:00:13
  • Etixx-Quick 00:00:19
  • Movistar 00:00:21
  • BMC 00:00:25
  • IAM Cycling z.t.
  • FDJ 00:00:26
  • Team Sky 00:00:27
  • Katusha
  • Trek Fabriks Lag 00:00:29
  • Soudal Item
  • Blanco Pro Cycling Team 0:00:36
  • Bardiani CSF 00:00:37
  • CCC Polkowice-SPRANDI-0:00:45
  • AG2R 00:00:48
  • Giant-Alpecin 00:00:49
  • Southeast 00:00:52
  • Cannon Garmin 00:00:53
  • Nippo-Vini Fantini 00:00:57
  • Lampre 00:00:59
  • Androni toys 00:01:03

Preview: Favourites

Which teams are the main contenders for stage victory? For this purpose, among others, belongs to Orica Green Edge, BMC, Team Sky and Etixx-Step. In 2014 Orica GreenEdgede won the team time trial in the Giro d’Italia.

Live on TV

2015 Giro d’Italia will be broadcast live by the Flemish public broadcaster and Eurosport. The Sporza broadcast begins at 15:00 on the Flemish channel. At Eurosport start one at 14:30 with respect to the Giro, initially with ‘Lemond of cycling’ and then with ‘Giro Extra”. At 15:00 on Eurosport starts the transmission of the first stage.